26 C
Sunday, April 2, 2023

    Rajya Sabha Elections: BPF To Project Biswajit Daimary Again

    Biswajit Daimary was elected as Rajya Sabha MP in 2008 and 2015

    Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF), ruling Bharatiya Janata Party’s ally, chief Hagrama Mohilary on March 1st, 2020, confirmed that the party will project sitting MP Biswajit Daimary again in the Rajya Sabha elections to be held on March 26th, 2020.

    Daimary was earlier elected as Rajya Sabha MP in 2008 and 2015.

    The elections in Assam will be held for three seats, which will fall vacant on April 9th, 2020. The two Congress MPs – who switched to the Bharatiya Janata Party – whose term will end on April 9th, 2020 include Bhubaneswar Kalita and Sanjay Sinh. Biswajit Daimary is the BPF MP who will retire on April 9th, 2020.

    According to the schedule for the elections, the notification would be issued on March 6th, 2020. The last date of filing of nominations would be March 13th, 2020 and polling would be on March 26th, 2020, from 9 am to 4 pm.


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published