26 C
Thursday, September 29, 2022

    AASU Sweeps GU Students’ Body Election, ABVP Wins GS Post

    Anurag Kalyan Borgohain is the new president while Moon Talukdar is the new GS of the GU students' union

    The result of the Post Graduate Students’ Union election of the Gauhati University was declared on September 25th, 2019. A total of ten candidates supported by the All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) won the election while three posts won by Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangha affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP).

    AASU-backed candidate Anurag Kalyan Borgohain won the president post while Lakhyajit Das won the Vice-President. However, ABVP-backed candidate Moon Talukdar won the seat of the general secretary of the body.

    Other AASU-backed candidates, who won the election, are Trishna Barman (Assistant GS), Shilpika Madhukaly (Music Secretary), Geetashri Bora (Debate and Magazine Secretary), Jubin Muktiiar (Major Games Secretary), Nabankur Sarikia (Minor Games Secretary),Nasir Mirza (Boys’ Common Room Secretary), Sagarika Kalita (Girls’ Common Room Secretary) and Farny Ahmed (Social Secretary). On the other hand, Sourav Saha (Cultural Secretary) won under ABVP banner and Aprim Kumar Bora (Literary Secretary) under the banner of SFI.

    The polling for the election was held on September 23rd, 2019. Students’ wing of Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti also fielded candidates but failed to win a single seat the election.

    Photo: Time8



    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published