21 C
Wednesday, February 8, 2023

    Mary Kom, Bhaichung Bhutia In Selection Panel For National Sports Awards

    Guwahati, August 9, 2019

    The sports ministry has decided to form a single 12-member elite panel, featuring the likes of six-time world champion boxer M C Mary Kom and former football captain Bhaichung Bhutia, to decide on the various sports awards to be given away on National Sports Day on August 29th, 2019.

    The awards will be given away on August 29th, 2019, the birth anniversary of hockey wizard Major Dhyan Chand which is celebrated as the National Sports Day. Chand won gold decorations in the Olympics for India in the years 1928, 1934 and 1936.

    “Honour to be part of Arjuna Award selection committee. I would also request sportspersons and others not to call me and any committee members to influence on the award. We assure you that the best deserving sportsperson would be given the award. Thank you,” Bhutia said. He is also the founder of Hamro Sikkim Party.

    The 12-member panel will be headed by Supreme Court judge Justice (Retd) Mukundakam Sharma. The panel will select all the winners of National Sports Awards – the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award (for coaches), Dhyan Chand Award (lifetime achievement) and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Award.

    The members include: Sports Secretary Radhey Shyam Jhulaniya, Target Olympic Podium Scheme (TOPS) CEO Commander Rajesh Rajagopalan, Sports Authority of India Director General Sandeep Pradhan, former women’s cricket team captain Anjum Chopra, celebrated former long-jumper Anju Bobby George and table tennis coach Kamlesh Mehta, Chief Editor of Times Group (Digital) Rajesh Kalra and sports commentator Charu Sharma.

    Photo courtesy: @MCMaryKomofficial and @BhaichungBhutiaOfficial


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published