19 C
Monday, February 6, 2023

    Jammu And Kashmir Officially Split Into 2 Union Territories From Today

    President's rule imposed in the undivided J&K officially revoked today

    Jammu and Kashmir is no longer a state after it was officially bifurcated into two Union Territories(UT)—Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh on October 31st, 2019.

    IAS officer Radha Krishna Mathur was sworn-in as the new Lieutenant Governors (LG) for the UT of Ladakh. Mathur administered the oath by Chief Justice of J&K High Court Geeta Mittal at Leh. Girish Chandra Murmu is the new LG for Jammu and Kashmir. His oath will be administered at Srinagar.

    The outgoing Governor of J&K, Satya Pal Mailk, has been moved as the Governor of Goa.

    In a landmark announcement by the Indian government on August 5th this year, J&K’s decades-old special status under Article 370 was scrapped which led to the birth of two union territories. With the abrogation of Article 370, President’s rule imposed in the undivided J&K was officially revoked.

    Now the total number of states in the country is 28 and the UTs have gone up to seven.

    Photo credit: @PIBHomeAffairs


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published