30 C
Monday, January 30, 2023

    Gauhati University PGSU Election Today, Battleground Set For AASU And ABVP

    A total of 4,000 students will decide the fate of the candidates

    As the fate of Gauhati University Post Graduate Students’ Union (PGSU) elections is just a few hours away, the All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) and the Sangh affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) will have a tough chase for the winning tag.

    Sources inside the University have revealed that this year, both the student wings of these organizations will have a neck-to-neck competition. Altogether 32 candidates have filed their nominations for 15 posts and the counting of votes will be held on September 25th, 2019.

    Also, members of the Satra Mukti Sangram Samiti (SMSS), the students’ wing of Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti has also fielded its candidates for the election. A total of 4,000 students will decide the fate of the candidates.

    The current candidate holding the PGSU office is supported by AASU and this year too, the student wing is confident of sweeping the election with a majority of votes.

    It needs to be mentioned here that traditionally in Gauhati University, Students’ unions avoid openly showing which candidate they are supporting fearing that it may lead to the loss of votes for their strong ideological and political standpoints.

    A total of three candidates are eyeing the post of President and only time will tell which party candidate emerges as the clear winner. The candidates are: Shresth Krishnan Dutta of ABVP, Siddharta Patar of SMSS and Anurag Kalyan Borgohain of AASU.

    Also, AASU backed Lakhyajit Das has won the seat of vice-president uncontested.

    Meanwhile, for the post of General Secretary, three candidates have filed their nominations. The candidates are: AASU’s Himadri Sarmah, ABVP’s Moon Talukdar and independent candidate Abdul Matin Khan.

    For the post of Assistant General Secretary, AASU has fielded Trishna Barman who is facing independent candidate Dolly Queen Basumatary.

    Lastly, for the post of cultural secretary, AASU’s candidate Bidisha Saha and independent candidate Sourav Saha are facing each other.

    Photo credit: shrestha.dutta and himadrisarmah.new


    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published