27 C
Thursday, September 29, 2022

    Elections To 55 Rajya Sabha Seats From 17 States On Mar 26

    The last date of filing of nominations would be March 13th, 2020

    The Election Commission of India (ECI) on February 25th, 2020 announced that biennial elections of 55 members of Rajya Sabha from 17 states will be held on March 26th, 2020. The counting of votes will also take place the same day. The members will retire in April 2020,

    The 17 states include Maharashtra, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur Rajasthan and Meghalaya.

    In Assam, the terms of the three seats expire on April 9th, 2020. The two Congress MPs – who switched to the Bharatiya Janata Party – whose term will end on April 9th, 2020 include Bhubaneswar Kalita and Sanjay Sinh. Biswajit Daimary is the BPF MP who will retire on April 9th, 2020.

    According to the schedule for the elections, the notification would be issued on March 6th, 2020. The last date of filing of nominations would be March 13th, 2020 and polling would be on March 26th, 2020, from 9 am to 4 pm.

    Check out the details:

    Photo credit: rstv.nic.in



    Follow TIME8.IN on TWITTER, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and on YOUTUBE to stay in the know with what’s happening in the world around you – in real time

    First published